Movie Night In – This is 40

Since I’m over the age of 30 and a parent, my weekend nights are typically spent in and we try to do movie night. Especially tonight as I live in the midwest and it’s like negative-@#$@#%^$#%^-cold outside. Try to contain your jealously.

Tonight I’m watching This is 40 starring Leslie Mann (who is way underrated as a comedic actress) and Paul Rudd (who was on “mah boyfrien” list for years). But this movie is a classic in my opinion, particularly because it really does depict those inside jokes about life in a long-term relationship, career hiccups and dealing with family’s idiosyncrasies.

I was laughing so hard when Debbie is pleading with Pete as he is trying to take a picture with his iPhone on his under-carriage. “Can we just keep a small shred of mystery….please?” Seriously, the mystery is gone after decades together, which doesn’t make life boring but truly amusing.

For some reason on IMDB.com this movie is only rated at a 6.2, but I would definitely rate it as a 8/10.

Leave a comment