New Year, New Skin Care

Adopting a skin care regimen has been way too challenging over the years. Partly because I have uber-sensitive skin like Casper the friendly ghost. And partly because I refuse to spend a ton of money that coats my face with more perfume than actual cleaning components. Basically if you picture Johnny Depp’s Mad Hatter getup, you have me – only that’s not clown makeup, for me that’s my skin. Yippee!

mad_hatter

Take for instance, Estee Lauder. Since before I can remember my mom has always used Estee Lauder cosmetics, perfumes, and skin care aides. And typically girls adopt their beauty and health methods from their mothers and friends. But Estee Lauder is too harsh on my skin to where I would breakout more after using it.

In response to the increase in breakouts I heard “Oh, that’s just from it working. Your skin will get worse and then it will get better!” Hmmm, say what???? You mean to tell me in order to not get acne I need to actually get it first. Genius!

Hmmm, N-to-the-O.

I feel like I’ve been through it all. Estee Lauder, Mary Kay, and a brief phase with ProActiv (side note: nothing makes me laugh more than Lindsay Lohan’s ProActiv commercial. Seriously, smoke another cigarette!)

clinique_skin_care

But after all those, I finally found a skin care system that works well for me – pale, sensitive skin with freckles trying to keep acne and wrinkles at bay. Clinique’s 3-Step System is what I’ve discovered  The set has a foaming facial soap, toner and then moisturizing cream. It leaves my skin super soft without leaving it heavy or the lotion coated on afterwards. I would highly recommend this skin care line to anyone looking for a cleaning routine that doesn’t cause massive breakouts and actually cleans. your. skin. without having to wait for it to get worse before it gets better.

(Photo credit)

(Photo credit)

Leave a Reply

