Delicious & Easy Asparagus Bundles

cooking disasterBy no means would I venture to call myself a domestic goddess (to be honest I kind of loathe the term but it’s just me). If it weren’t for the calories and the costs, I’d probably eat out every night – ha! But I go through phases where I go, er, psycho-esque, and need to cook every single night in my attempt to be healthy healthier.

When I do attempt to cook my requirements are as is – 1) Delicious (so to make it worth my while to venture into the kitchen) and 2) Easy (as in minimal steps as possible and where my eatin’ time will arrive in no more than an hour – Nom, nom, nom!)

For instance, I once tried to cook a recipe from Paula Dean’s cookbook and while it was scrumptious, it literally took me two hours to complete the entire dish. Ugh. I’m tired just thinking about it again.

So, here’s a recipe that is awesome & super easy for a side dish. Before, I just knew one way to cook asparagus and that was on a skillet with olive oil, lemon and garlic. While that was YUM! it gets old real fast and doesn’t do this vegetable justice. So I went looking to get my savory on and found a new recipe that actually comes from Trisha Yearwood’s cookbook. This dish takes about 10 minutes to prepare and 20 minutes to cook, but the result is literally the best asparagus I’ve ever had and friends who have tried it looked at me like I was an actual cook. BAM! Win. Win.

Trust me – IF I can do this, you can do this.

asparagus_bundles

Ingredients

2 pounds fresh asparagus, ends trimmed (TIP: I typically do about 12 bundles of 3-4 each)
12 slices bacon (TIP: for a healthier side, I’ve used turkey bacon and it just as delicious)
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Divide the asparagus spears into 12 bundles. Carefully wrap 1 piece of bacon around each bundle, starting about 1/2 inch from the bottom of the tips. Secure the bacon-wrapped spears with a toothpick. Lay the bundles in a low-sided casserole dish. (TIP: if it makes it easier pre-cook the bacon just a little bit to where it’s still flexible to wrap).

In a medium saucepan, combine the brown sugar, butter, soy sauce, garlic salt and pepper. Bring the mixture to a boil. (TIP: be sure to stir this mixture a lot so that the brown sugar dissolves properly and mixes. Also, you have my permission to taste some of this incredible sauce. However, don’t be like me and actually leave some for the asparagus!)

Pour the hot sugar mixture over the asparagus bundles. Transfer the dish to the oven and roast until the spears have begun to wilt and the bacon looks fully cooked, about 20-25 minutes. ¬†(TIP: For a crunchier asparagus, look for a color that’s brighter green which is around the 20 minute mark)

Remove the toothpicks before serving. Last, and most importantly – Dig.In.

(image source)

One thought on “Delicious & Easy Asparagus Bundles

  1. Pingback: Super Easy Lemon & Garlic Butter Salmon | Unwind The Grind

Leave a Reply

